The Governing Body

The Institute is administered by a Society and a Governing Body. These bodies comprise eminent persons from all walks of life who are nominated by the Government of India. Presently Professor Chandrakala Padia is the President of the IIAS Society and Chairperson of the Governing Body.To advise the Governing Body in financial matters, the Institute has a Finance Committee. This has statutory standing with the Financial Advisor, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India being one of its members. The Institute has an Academic Committee, a Library Advisory Committee and a Publication Advisory Committee to advise the Director. The Institute is headed by a Director. Presently this position is held by Professor Chetan Singh. The Director is assisted in financial and administrative matters by a Secretary. Apart from various levels of other staff, the Institute also has a Librarian, Deputy Secretary, Accounts Officer, Assistant Publication Officer, Public Relations Officer and Estate Supervisor who head their sections. The Institute is primarily funded by the Government of India's Ministry of Human Resource Development. It also generates modest funds by the sale of its publications and the entry fee paid by visitors to the heritage building. Here is the list of the current Governing Body members of IIAS:

Professor Chandrakala Padia
Chairperson, Governing Body, IIAS

Vice Chancellor
Maharaja Ganga Singh University
Bikaner (Rajasthan)
Professor Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi
Indian Institute of Advanced Study
Rashtrapati Nivas 
Shimla 171005
Telephone: 0177 2830006 (O) 2831275 (R), Fax: 2831389, 2830995
Shri Kewal Kumar Sharma
Department of Higher Education
Ministry of Human Resource Development
Shastri Bhavan
New Delhi 110 001
Tel: 011 23386451, 23382698 (O) 26979585, Fax: 23385807, 23381355
E-mail :
Shri Yogendra Tripathi, IAS
Joint Secretary & Financial Advisor,
Department of Higher Education
Ministry of Human Resource Development
Shastri Bhavan
New Delhi 110 001
Tel: 011 23382696, Fax- 011 23070668
E-mail :
Professor Ved Prakash
University Grants Commission
Bahadurshah Zafar Marg
New Delhi 110 002
E-mail :
Tel: (011) 23239628 (O) Fax: 011 23231797
Professor S.K. Thorat
Indian Council of Social Science Research
Post Box No.10528
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg
New Delhi 110 067
Phone: 011-26179679 (O), 011 255454865 
Fax: 011 26162516/26179836
E-mail :
Professor Mrinal Miri
Indian Council of Philosophical Research
36, Tughlakabad Institutional Area 
Mehrauli Badarpur Road 
New Delhi 110 062
Phone: (891) 2567421; Telefax: 011 29051762, 26057387 
(O) 22221546 (R) Fax: 011 2242844
Dr. P.S. Ahuja
Council of Scientific & Industrial Research
Rafi Marg
New Delhi 110 001
Tel: 011 23710472, 23717053 (O), 24618851
Fax: 011- 23710618
Professor Yellapragada Sudershan Rao
Indian Council of Historical Research 
35, Ferozeshah Road 
New Delhi 110 001 
Telephone: 011 23386033 
Fax: 23383421 
Professor Madhavan Palat
Chief Editor 
Nehru Memorial Trust 
New Delhi 
Professor D.L. Sheth
YC-2, Sah Vikas Apartments
68, I.P Extension
New Delhi 110 092 
Tel: 011 – 2223 1864
Professor Susie Tharu
A – 27/2, 1st Crescent Road 
Hyderabad 500 094