The Governing Body

The Institute is administered by a Society and a Governing Body. These bodies comprise eminent persons from all walks of life who are nominated by the Government of India. Presently Professor Chandrakala Padia is the President of the IIAS Society and Chairperson of the Governing Body.To advise the Governing Body in financial matters, the Institute has a Finance Committee. This has statutory standing with the Financial Advisor, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India being one of its members. The Institute has an Academic Committee, a Library Advisory Committee and a Publication Advisory Committee to advise the Director. The Institute is headed by a Director. Presently this position is held by Professor Chetan Singh. The Director is assisted in financial and administrative matters by a Secretary. Apart from various levels of other staff, the Institute also has a Librarian, Deputy Secretary, Accounts Officer, Assistant Publication Officer, Public Relations Officer and Estate Supervisor who head their sections. The Institute is primarily funded by the Government of India's Ministry of Human Resource Development. It also generates modest funds by the sale of its publications and the entry fee paid by visitors to the heritage building. Here is the list of the current Governing Body members of IIAS:


1   Professor Chandrakala Padia


Chairperson, Governing Body, IIAS


2. Professor Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi


Indian Institute of Advanced Study

Rashtrapati Nivas,  Shimla-171005



A representative each of the Ministries of Education & Finance.

  1. Shri K.K. Sharma, IAS


 Department of Higher Education,

 Ministry of Human Resource Development,

 Room No. 127-C- Wing

 Shastri Bhavan,

 New Delhi -110 015.

 Tel: 011-23386451, 23382698(O) 26979585, Fax: 23385807, 23381355



  1. Smt. Darshana M Dabral

 Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser

 Department of Secondary & Higher Education

 Ministry of Human Resource Development

 120-C, Shastri Bhavan,

 New Delhi - 110 015.

 Tel: 011-23382696, Fax- 011-23070668,




Five Institutional Members


1.         Professor D.P. Singh


University Grants Commission,

Bahadurshah Zafar Marg,

New Delhi –  110 002.

Tel: (011) 23239628 (O) Fax: 011-23231797, E-mail:


  1. Dr. Braj Bihari Kumar


Indian Council of Social Science Research,

Post Box No.10528,

Aruna Asaf Ali Marg,

New Delhi – 110 067

Phone: 011-26741679 (O), 011-26742398 (R)

Fax: 011-26162516/26179836, E-mail :


3.         Professor S.R. Bhatt


Indian Council of Philosophical Research,

36, Tughlakabad Institutional Area,

Mehrauli Badarpur Road,

New Delhi –  110 062.

Tel: 9599955780,  Fax: + 91-11-29964755;


4.         Dr. Girish Sahni,


Council of Scientific & Industrial Research  and Secretary

DSIR Anusandhan Bhavan,

2 , Rafi Marg,

New Delhi – 110 001.

Tel:  + 91-11-23710472,23717053  Fax: + 91-11-23710618

Email : dgcsir@ ;  dg


5.         The Chairman

Indian Council of Historical Research,

35, Ferozeshah Road,

New Delhi –  110 001.

Telephone: 011- 23386033, PS: 23384869

Fax: 23383421, E-mail:


These Institutional members may, if necessary, be represented, at the meetings, by their nominees.


Two Vice-Chancellors from category 3(b)(i) of the Members of Society nominated by the Central Government.

  1. Vacant
  2. Vacant


Four persons from Category 3(b)(ii) of the Members of the Society nominated by the Government of India


1.         Professor D.L. Sheth

      Centre for the Study of Developing Societies

      29, Rajpur Road

      Delhi – 110 054

     Tel: 011 – 2223 1864

M: 09313298815



2.         Professor Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi


Indian Institute of Advanced Study

Rashtrapati Nivas,  Shimla-171005



3.         Professor Susie Tharu

A – 27/2, 1st Crescent Road

AFOCHS, Sanikpuri

Hyderabad – 500 094



4.         Shri Sanjay Kumar Sinha, IFS

Director (ICR)

Department of  Higher Education

Union Ministry of Human Resource Development

Room No. 220, C

Shastri  Bhavan

New Delhi-110 015