Prof. Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi

Prof. A. K. ChaturvediProfessor Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi, Director, IIT, Roorkee, has been given additional charge of the Director from 1st January 2017.

Professor Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi received Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur in 1995 and served the Department of Electronics Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi from 1994 to 1996. Subsequently, he joined the faculty of the Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee.

He moved to Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur in 1999 and held the responsibility of the Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering during 2009-2010. Prof. Chaturvedi was Dean of Research & Development during 2011-2014 and Deputy Director since October 2014. Prof. Chaturvedi was the Coordinator of the BSNL-IITK Telecom Centre of Excellence which has done a large number of projects for the Indian telecom sector.

Prof. Chaturvedi is a recipient of the Distinguished Teacher award of IIT Kanpur and Tan Chin Tuan Fellowship of Nanyang Technical University, Singapore. Prof. Chaturvedi is a member of the Nomination and Election Committee of IEEE Communication Society. He has also served on the Teaching Awards Committee of IEEE. Prof. Chaturvedi is a founding member of the Telecom Standards Development Society of India (TSDSI) and the current Chair of the Joint Telematics Group which organises the annual National Conference on Communications.  Prof. Chaturvedi was a member of the DoT committee which recommended criteria for spectrum allocation to telecom operators, in 2008. A large number of graduate and post graduate students have been supervised.   Prof. Chaturvedi is known for his contributions to waveform shaping and sequence design. Nowadays, he is working on the detection problem in massive MIMO systems.  



  1. Journal Articles
  2. Conference Papers