The Governing Body

The Institute is administered by a Society and a Governing Body. These bodies comprise eminent persons from all walks of life who are nominated by the Government of India. Presently Professor (Retd.) Kapil Kapoor is the President of the IIAS Society and Chairperson of the Governing Body. To advise the Governing Body in financial matters, the Institute has a Finance Committee. This has statutory standing with the Financial Advisor, Ministry of Education(Shiksha Mantralaya), Government of India being one of its members. The Institute has an Academic Committee, a Library Advisory Committee and a Publication Advisory Committee to advise the Director. The Institute is headed by a Director. Presently this position is Vacant. The Director is assisted in financial and administrative matters by a Secretary. Apart from various levels of other staff, the Institute also has a Librarian, Deputy Secretary, Accounts Officer, Assistant Publication Officer, Public Relations Officer and Estate Supervisor who head their sections. The Institute is primarily funded by the Government of India's Ministry of Education(Shiksha Mantralaya). It also generates modest funds by the sale of its publications and the entry fee paid by visitors to the heritage building. The Governing Body has been constituted on 21st February 2018 and the term of Governing Body is for 3 years. Here is the list of the current Governing Body members of IIAS:

Professor (Retd.) Kapil Kapoor Former Pro-VC and Dean;
Former Professor of English,
Centre for Linguistics and English
and Concurrent Professor,
Centre for Sanskrit Studies, JNU, New Delhi.
Chairman, Governing Body
Indian Institute of Advanced Study,
Rashtrapati Nivas, Shimla - 171005
Address: B-2/332, Ekta Garden,
Mother Dairy Marg, Delhi – 110092.
Tel. 011-22723406; Mob. (0) 9810202146
E-mail ID:
 Prof. Chaman Lal Gupta  Vice President, Governing Body,
Acting Director,
Indian Institute of Advanced Study
Rashtrapati Nivas,Shimla-171005
Telephone: 0177-2830006(O) Fax: 2831389, 2830995
Shri  Amit Khare, IAS Secretary,Department of Higher Education,
Ministry of Education(Shiksha Mantralaya),
Room No. 127-C- Wing, Shastri Bhavan,
New Delhi -110 015.
Tel: 011-23386451, 23382698(O) 26979585,
Fax: 23385807, 23381355
Smt. Darshana M Dabral Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser
Department of Secondary & Higher Education,
Ministry of Education(Shiksha Mantralaya)
120-C, Shastri Bhavan,
New Delhi - 110 015.
Tel: 011-23382696, Fax- 011-23070668,
Professor D.P. Singh
ChairmanUniversity Grants Commission,
Bahadurshah Zafar Marg,
New Delhi –  110 002.
Tel: (011) 23239628 (O)
Fax: 011-23231797
Prof. Bhushan Patwardhan (Additional charge)
Indian Council of Social Science Research,
Post Box No.10528,
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg,
New Delhi – 110 067
Phone: 011-26741679 (O), 011-26742398 (R)
Fax: 011-26162516/26179836
E-mail :
Professor Ramesh Chandra Sinha
Indian Council of Philosophical Research,
36, Tughlakabad Institutional Area,
Mehrauli Badarpur Road,
New Delhi –  110 062.
Tel: 9599955780,  Fax: + 91-11-29964755;
Dr. Shekhar C. Mande
Council of Scientific & Industrial Research  and Secretary
DSIR Anusandhan Bhavan,
2 , Rafi Marg,
New Delhi – 110 001.
Tel:  + 91-11-23710472,23717053  Fax: + 91-11-23710618
Email : dgcsir@ ;  dg
Indian Council of Historical Research
35, Ferozeshah Road
New Delhi – 110 001
Tel: 011-23386033, 23384869, Fax: 23383421, 23387829,
Mobile 9415243954
Prof. S.K.Srivastava
North-Eastern Hill University,
Shillong 793 022Phone: (0364) 2721003/2721004/2550101/ 2550074 (R)
Fax: (0364) 2550076
Professor Chaman Lal Gupta
Vice-Chairman, Governing Body
Indian Institute of Advanced Study,
Rashtrapati Nivas, Shimla – 171005.
Address: Vivek Kutir, Summer Hill,
Shimla – 171005   H.P.
Mobile: 9418141898
Phone:  0177-2830637
Professor G.K. Karanth
Professor Sociology,
Centre for Study of Social Change and Development,
Institute for Social and Economic Change,
Bangalore – 560072
Mobile : 7899837275; 9845731403
E‐mail : 
Professor Sanjeev Kumar Sharma
Vice Chancellor,
Mahatma Gandhi Central University,
Dr. Ambedkar Administrative Building,
Near OP Thana, Raghunathpur, Motihari,
District- East Champaran
Bihar- 845401 (INDIA)
Mobile: 9412205348, 9458609921
Professor Gururaj Karajagi
Founder and Chairman,
Academy for Creative Teaching (ACT),
Bangaluru – 560032
Phone:  080 41697855,   080 41697866,  080 23439822 (O) ,
080 23331748 (R)
Mobile : 9663611221