Internal Complaint Committee

In compliance with the instructions of the Department of Women & Child Development and guidelines issued in implementation of the directives of Hon’ble Supreme Court Judgment dated 13th August 1997 in the case of Visakha and others vs. State of Rajasthan and Others on the subject of sexual harassment of women in the workplace, the Institute had constituted a Complaint Committee for considering complaints of sexual harassment of women working in the Institute.  The composition of the Complaints Committee has been revised from time to time subsequent to transfer etc. of the existing members.  The present composition of the Complaints Committee in the Institute is as follows:

Sr. No Name Designation Contact Number Email-ID
1 Dr. Meenu Aagarwal(Resident Medical Officer, IIAS) Chairperson 01772831382
2  Prof. Shankar Saran Member 0177-2831375 Extn. 294
3 Prof. Alpana Trivedi Giri  Member 0177-2831375 Extn. 308
4 Ms. Rashmi Sharma(Advocate) Member 0177-2807792
5 Professor Aparna Negi, HPU, Shimla  Member 0177-2833802


The objectives of the Committee are:

      1. Prevent discrimination and sexual harassment against women, by promoting gender amity among students and employees;
      2. Make recommendations to the Director for changes/elaborations in the Rules for students in the Prospectus and the Bye-Laws, to make them gender just and to lay down procedures for the prohibition, resolution, settlement and prosecution of acts of discrimination and sexual harassment against women, by the students and the employees;
      3. Deal with cases of discrimination and sexual harassment against women, in a time bound manner, aiming at ensuring support services to the victimized and termination of the harassment;
      4. Recommend appropriate punitive action against the guilty party to the Director.

Procedure for Approaching Committee

The Committee deals with issues relating to sexual harassment at the Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla. It is applicable to all Fellows, staff and faculty. A complaint of discrimination or sexual harassment may be lodged by the victim or a third party. A written complaint may be addressed to the Convener of the Committee. If the complaint is made to the Director, Deputy Director or any of the Committee members, they may forward it to the Convener of the Committee Against Sexual Harassment.

Here it should be noted that according to the Supreme Court guideline Sexual harassment can be defined as "unwelcome" sexually determined behaviour (whether directly or by implication) as:

      1. Physical contact and advances;
      2. Demand or request for sexual favors;
      3. Sexually colored remarks;
      4. Showing pornography; and
      5. Other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of a sexual nature. (Vishaka judgment by Supreme Court)

The following is also sexual harassment and is covered by the committee:

      1. Eve-teasing,
      2. Unsavory remarks,
      3. Jokes causing or likely to cause awkwardness or embarrassment,
      4. Innuendos and taunts,
      5. Gender based insults or sexist remarks,
      6. Unwelcome sexual overtone in any manner such as over telephone (obnoxious telephone calls) and the like,
      7. Touching or brushing against any part of the body and the like,
      8. Displaying pornographic or other offensive or derogatory pictures, cartoons, pamphlets or sayings,
      9. Forcible physical touch or molestation and
      10. Physical confinement against one's will and any other act likely to violate one's privacy.